Congratulations To All the Nominees

The 2017 Civvys received over 50 inspiring nominations from across America, of organizations and people working actively to fight partisan rancor and ideological division. Nominations highlighted youth-led initiatives, community efforts, and professional initiatives from every corner of the country, all working to unite and improve America.

Nominees and finalists have been notified.

The Finalists


Honorable Mentions

  • Belfer Center for Innovation & Social Impact- 92nd Street Y
  • Tim Cook- Apple Inc. 
  • Emily Schoephoerster- Westbrook-Walnut Grove
  • Beth Lewis- Save Our Schools Arizona
  • Sheila Sydnor- The Penn Alexander School
  • Lewena Bayer- Civility Experts Worldwide 
  • Erin McIlraith- WSU Center for Civic Engagement
  • Senator Diane Allen- NJ State Senate
  • Betsy Newmark- Raleigh Charter High School
  • Common Good
  • William Jackson and Quinton McGirt- The Justice Project
  • Jeff Girvan, Delegate Richard Anderson- Virginia House of Delegates
  • Junior State of America
  • Hunter Buxton- First Vote NC
  • Maria Hadden- Participatory Budgeting Project
  • Cindy Elias, Jan Phillips, Kathy Leighton- Green Dot Lewiston Auburn
  • No Labels
  • Jeff Clements- American Promise
  • Representative Helene Keeley- Delaware State Legislature
  • Curtis Miller- Connect Battle Ground
  • Amy Koch, Brian McDaniel, Javier Morillo, Carin Mrotz- Wrong about Everything Podcast
  • Dr. Clyde Rivers

Be sure to follow Big Tent Nation and Bridge Alliance on social media, where we will share more details about the winners and their work, as well as updates from the awards ceremony.

While nominations for this year have closed, please check back next year for ways to get involved with the Civvys!